Sh 20,000 for each MP to attend Ruto Murang’a prayer rally – Weekly Citizen


Over 100 members of Parliament have positioned themselves for sh. 20,000 slotted for members of August house who will attend a weekend prayer rally to be presided over by Deputy President William Ruto in Murang’a.

This is happening as pro-Uhuru Kenyatta allied MPs in Central province are crying foul claiming the DP is out to undermine the President who Kikuyu Mps allied to Tangatanga claim Uhuru is missing in action and has abandoned his Kikuyu kinsmen and is busy helping the Kenyatta family invest in major business at the expense of the electorates.

They openly state, Uhuru has never visited the region compared to Ruto since he was voted in for the second term

According to some of the organizers of the event to be hosted at the backyard of President Uhuru Kenyatta, churches involved had been advanced sh. 5 million for early preparations.

Part of the cash will be channeled towards ferrying followers, hiring of public address system, soft drinks including soda and water among other social amenities that may be needed on the material Suterday.

Kiharu MP Ndindi Nyoro who is the host said about 150 MPs had confirmed their attendance and the main idea behind the prayer rally of such a magnitude was to portray   Ruto as a man of the people across the country.

Initial plans limited the events to churches in Central Kenya but Weekly Citizen established that organizers widen their net to have other friendly churches involved as a way of giving it a national outlook.

Analysts view the event as aimed at intimidating President Uhuru Kenyatta and opposition Chief Raila Odinga who have led talks on a referendum.

By coaxing over 100 MPs to attend the event Ruto is in an outright show of his prowess in parliament where the referendum idea will first go for at least two thirds approval before it’s presented to the voters.

Among those who have confirmed their attendance are National Assembly Majority Leader Adan Duale, Women Representatives Catharine Waruguru(Laikipia), Ann Ngirici (Kirinyanga), Sabina Chege (Murang’a), Janet Nangambo (Trans Nzoia) and Senator Mithika Linturi (Meru).

Others are David Gikaria (Nakuru Town East), Silvanus Osoro (South Mugirango), Richard Tongi (Nyaribari Chache), Joash Nyamoko (North Mugirango), John Waluke (Sirisia), Mululu Ijendi (Malava) and Emanuel Wangwe (Navakholo).





Source link