Jubilee’s Kolosh wins Wajir poll : The Standard


Wajir West MP-elect Ahmed Kolosh address journalists after being declared the winner of the mini-poll at Griftu Pastoral Center. [Phillip Orwa, Standard]

Jubilee’s Ahmed Kolosh, the former area MP, has won the Wajir West parliamentary by-election.

Kolosh won the race characterised by above-average voter turnout with 11,053 votes against Kanu’s Sheikh Ibrahim’s 6,532 votes.
The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission said 17,606 votes were cast – recording over 60 per cent turnout.
The constituency had 75 polling stations and 27,544 registered voters.

SEE ALSO :ODM candidate quits Wajir race in favour of Jubilee

The contest was reduced to a two-horse race, between Kolosh and Mohammed, after other candidates withdrew.
Earlier this month, ODM’s candidate Mohamed Yusuf withdrew in favour of Jubilee’s Kolosh.
The seat fell vacant following a successful petition by Sheikh Ibrahim at the Supreme Court.

For the latest news in entertainment check out Sde.co.ke and Pulser.co.ke , for everything sports visit Gameyetu.co.ke and ladies we have you covered on Evewoman

Ahmed KoloshSheikh IbrahimWajir West by-electionJubilee party


Source link